I feel like I should post SOMETHING

So I’ll post this before and after set of pictures of our patio benches.

DSC01408 DSC01410

You can see that they were in need of some refinishing.  Like pretty much everything in our house, the previous owner never really bothered to perform even the most basic of cleaning on it.  We had our vents cleaned out by a professional about a week ago and he said that we were the only house he’s ever worked on that had enough dust and hair to fill two filter boxes to the top.  For comparison, last year when his company cleaned out Terminal 3 at O’Hare airport for the first time in 5 years they filled up on and a half. Our little 1100 square foot rambler had more dust than the largest terminal at one of the worlds busiest airports.  ::sigh::.  I tell ya, the air conditioning is working 100% better now!

 

As you can see from the above picture we do have a smallish back yard.  The two skinny spruce (middle two) are going to be removed because they’re ugly and have no branches for 20 feet.  The birch is staying and the white pine is staying (even though the birch has a giant axe chunk taken out of it due to the stupid teenagers that lived here before us) and the white pine also has no branches for almost 15 feet.  The white pine is the one and only dark green, healthy looking white pine in Illinois that I’ve ever seen so I really can’t get rid of it, can I?  I’m going to replace the spruce with a single Horstmann’s Silberlocke Korean fir and also design a perennial bed to fill in around it and make the yard look less lawny.  There is also a nice big area that I’m going to make into a dedicated edible garden since it’s the lone sunny spot so weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee (I’m really excited).  Sorry I’ve been so not here lately, I only had 4 days off during the month of June and July is shaping up to be more of the same (plus we moved in June and we’re trying to fix this place up in July) so I might not be the most online person for a bit.  I’ll try to post some more pictures, I swear!

2 thoughts on “I feel like I should post SOMETHING

Leave a Reply

