Here a Bloom, There a Bloom, Everywhere a Bloom

Ok maybe not everywhere but at least there are a couple…

Mixed Container of Taxus x media 'Hicksii', purple Campanula media, some sort of lavender bacopa, and Fizzy Lemonberry Pansy

Mixed Container of Taxus x media ‘Hicksii’, purple Campanula media, yellow snapdragons some sort of lavender bacopa, and Fizzy Lemonberry Pansy

This container sits by the back door…It seems kinda cramped now but I think as the plants grow a wee bit it ooze over the edge and look a little less squished.

Sauromatum venosum

Sauromatum venosum

This guy…I’m not sure how I feel about this guy.  I’m not even sure why I own it.  I got the tubers for $3 at Home Depot last year…I knew what I was getting into but I still did it anyways.  It’s a corpse flower.  It’s not the super gigantic ones (Amorphophallus titanium) but it still has the lovely smell of poo and dead things.  So why did I buy it?  Well… I actually really love the foliage.  Last year I cut the flowers off, this year I want to actually see them (since I can leave it outside and not worry about smelling up the house).  So yeah…here goes something.

 

Assorted violas with Picea pungens 'Iseli Fastigate'

Assorted violas with Picea pungens ‘Iseli Fastigate’

These containers look a lot nicer in person.  The violas actually stand out really well and the blue of the spruce contrasts really nicely with the tan of the apartment building.  Now that they’ve been established for about a week they’re looking even better, the violas are starting to trail and they’re just smothered in blooms.

Yellow, Orange and Red Calceolaria

Yellow, Orange and Red Calceolaria

And last but not least we have this Calceolaria that I got at Home Depot of all places.  I normally HATE Calceolaria but I liked how this one had the flowers held high on long stems instead of the typical blob right near the center of the plant.  It made the plant look much more distinctive than the typical orange or yellow pile of ugly.  Besides, this one came in my favorite color combination so how could I resist???

 

 

One thought on “Here a Bloom, There a Bloom, Everywhere a Bloom

Leave a Reply

