Spring Cacti

Time for a brief tour of my Minnesota hardy cactus patch!

Pink Flowered Opuntia My pink flowered Opuntia fragilis x Idontrememberwhatii (polycantha var polycantha x fragilis maybe? Perhaps the one named Claude Arno?) has survived yet another winter unscathed.

Opuntia 'Orange Flowered' As has the heinously spiny orange flowered Opuntia hybrid

Opuntia species Good old O. fragilis being smothered by another larger Opuntia (perhaps engelmanii? cymochila? polycantha? I just can’t remember!!!)  If it hasn’t become obvious many of my Opuntia have become horribly confused over the year and I can’t remember who any of the yellow flowered ones are.  I know one of the larger padded ones is chartreuse colored and I know one of them is ‘Smithwick’ but until they plump up and flower I have no hope of even guessing what they could be.

On that happy note I’m just going to post pictures of the rest because really, what do I have to say about them? They survived yet another embarrassingly long winter without a single fatality and none of them even looked remotely rotty.  The rest of these guys are mostly things that I have ID’s for so that’s at least helpful, right?

Opuntia 'Little Grey Cloud' (I think)

Opuntia ‘Little Grey Cloud’ (I think)

These Hens and Chicks are offspring of plants that have been in our family for at least 100 years

These Hens and Chicks are offspring of plants that have been in our family for at least 100 years

Some sort of blue Ephedra cultivar...I can't remember who

Some sort of blue Ephedra cultivar…I can’t remember who

Opuntia fragilis 'Dunn County Wisconsin Strain'

Opuntia fragilis ‘Dunn County Wisconsin Strain’

Echinocereus triglochidiatus

Echinocereus triglochidiatus

Escobaria vivipara

Escobaria vivipara

2 thoughts on “Spring Cacti

Leave a Reply

