Spring is…sort of Springing?

DSCN1112  It’s finally starting to look like spring!  So I’ll give you an (exceedingly) brief tour of what’s going on in the yard.  First things first, my Acer palmatum ‘Sango-Kaku’ appears to have survived the winter almost entirely unscathed in spite of being purchased for $3 from the Wal-Mart parking lot in July with almost no soil in the container, sitting on the patio in a pot with almost no soil until October during a record hot summer, and finally being planted in mid October, just when Japanese Maples LOVE to be transplanted (not.  They want to be planted in early spring so they can get acclimated before struggling through sub zero temps).  So really, I’m quite excited.

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN1110  My Sambucus sp. is starting to leaf out and I love it.  The leaves look like tiny purple hands unfolding from the stem.  Actually when I think of it that way I’m kind of weirded out by it.  Oops..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN1108 This Sedum ‘Autumn Joy’ (Yes I know it’s now something else but I can’t remember what that something else is and quite frankly I think it’s dumb to change it anyways) was a 1 gallon pot with a single stem when I planted it 2 years.  Now it’s gigantic (for a sedum).  So excited!  They always make me happy in the spring, they’re one of the first plants to start flushing out for us which means actual spring can’t be too far away!

 

 

 

 

DSCN1107 I’ve got another Hippeastrum starting to bloom.  I’m fairly certain this one is ‘Red Lion’.  Nothing tragically exciting but I will never complain about an amaryllis bloom.  In other Amaryllis news, I think I lost my ‘Neon Rose’.  I crossed it with ‘Supreme Garden’ and the cross actually took.  This is good news.  The bad news is that the energy to try and form seeds completely depleted the bulb and now it is barely extant in the pot.  I cut the stem off but I’m pretty sure it’s too late.

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN1111 The Narcissus in the south garden are so much farther along than I thought they would be.  This clump is already all budded up!  You have no idea how happy this made me.  I’m so excited that plants are finally happening outside!!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCN1106 On a semi botanical note, what do you do when you have an excess of willow branches?  You make a wreath!  This one is going to my Grandma for Easter.  It’s a lot prettier in person.  It’s also gigantic.  It’s about 4′ across.  Oops.  Oh well, Grandma has to love, right?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spring is…sort of Springing?

Leave a Reply

