Planty Fun on a Cold Day

A brief tour around the windowsills on this miserable winter day…

DSCN1105

As usual my Codonanthe speciosa is in bloom.  I can't recall a time in the entire year I've had it hasn't had at least one bloom on it.  It's not obscenely showy or anything but it still makes me happy to see the cheery little white blooms peaking out from under the dark green foliage.  Another underused plant that everyone should be growing!

As usual my Codonanthe speciosa is in bloom. I can’t recall a time in the entire year I’ve had it hasn’t had at least one bloom on it. It’s not obscenely showy or anything but it still makes me happy to see the cheery little white blooms peaking out from under the dark green foliage. Another underused plant that everyone should be growing!

My Hippeastrum reticulatum var striatifoium is suddenly pushing out a lot of new growth... I can't wait for this one to bloom some day!

My Hippeastrum reticulatum var striatifoium is suddenly pushing out a lot of new growth… I can’t wait for this one to bloom some day!

My Dioscorea elephantipes that I got at the Chicago Flower show last year is growing like gangbusters.  It's climbed several feet up an unused hanging basket holder...

My Dioscorea elephantipes that I got at the Chicago Flower show last year is growing like gangbusters. It’s climbed several feet up an unused hanging basket holder…

...and piled itself into a clump on my Epiphyllum

…and piled itself into a clump on my Epiphyllum

The caudex hasn't really gotten much bigger but these things take forever

The caudex hasn’t really gotten much bigger but these things take forever

A new amaryllis for me... Hippeastrum 'Supreme Garden', a wonderful mini with a great salmon-orange coloration that is perfect for driving away the winter blues.  I think this might be one of my "happiest' amaryllis because it has no trace of christmasiness, just a nice bright springy color.

A new amaryllis for me… Hippeastrum ‘Supreme Garden’, a wonderful mini with a great salmon-orange coloration that is perfect for driving away the winter blues. I think this might be one of my “happiest’ amaryllis because it has no trace of christmasiness, just a nice bright springy color.

None of the pictures really do it justice but it has a really fun lime green throat

None of the pictures really do it justice but it has a really fun lime green throat

Hippeastrum 'Neon Rose' is getting ready to bloom...the bulb has 2 spikes this year.  I'm going to try crossing it with Supreme Garden and see if maybe it will work.  So far Neon Rose hasn't worked as either a male or female parent but maybe it'll be willing to cross with another mini...

Hippeastrum ‘Neon Rose’ is getting ready to bloom…the bulb has 2 spikes this year. I’m going to try crossing it with Supreme Garden and see if maybe it will work. So far Neon Rose hasn’t worked as either a male or female parent but maybe it’ll be willing to cross with another mini…

An overall (washed out) shot of the pot of Supreme Garden.  It's an 8" pot with about 6 bulbs in it (the bulbs are tiny...about the size of a golf ball!)

An overall (washed out) shot of the pot of Supreme Garden. It’s an 8″ pot with about 6 bulbs in it (the bulbs are tiny…about the size of a golf ball!)

This little guy (who is really much more purpley not blue like the picture shows) decided to throw out these multi-color flowers on a plant that was all solid colored.  I got this from work a few weeks ago and the blooms just keep lasting and lasting.  I hope I can actually keep this one alive....

This little guy (who is really much more purpley not blue like the picture shows) decided to throw out these multi-color flowers on a plant that was all solid colored. I got this from work a few weeks ago and the blooms just keep lasting and lasting. I hope I can actually keep this one alive….

The Brassavola is still going strong

The Brassavola is still going strong

 

8 thoughts on “Planty Fun on a Cold Day

  1. Pretty amaryllis! I still haven’t crawled into my cellar storage room to retrieve mine… so lazy this year!

    My Dioscorea (forgot the species) was so full of scale that I cut it back months ago… now it has only one leaf and doesn’t seem to want to grow any more… :(

    • I know all about laziness…I haven’t exactly been blog happy this winter…so lazy and so rare that something is exciting. But flowers are always fun, right?

Leave a Reply

