Garden Bloggers Bloom Day April 2012

So…I’m a bad garden blogger.  I don’t really have anything to post for this month’s GBBD.  I do still have my one mini rose blooming:

And my star fruit (Averrhoa carambola) has some buds:

My spring container is coming along nicely (It’s yellow pansies, pink Papaver nudicaule and scotch broom.  This picture is actually a couple days old, the poppies are in full bloom now.

So why am I so bad at having pictures this week?  I just got back from C2E2, The Chicago Comic and Education Expo!  It was quite the nerdstraveganza!  I think this picture sums it up best:

Yes, that IS a pint sized jedi battling a sandtrooper.

For more people who are actually GOOD at posting for Garden Bloggers Bloom Day check out May Dreams Gardens!

2 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers Bloom Day April 2012

  1. I had to stop and read that container description a second time. I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone admit to planting Scotch Broom, around here that would have the plant police at your door in 5 minutes or less! Don’t get me wrong, it is a lovely looking plant, just highly invasive and out of control in the Pacific Northwest.

    • We’re too cold here, it doesn’t really stand a chance of surviving. I know it’s rated zone 5 hardy but for what ever reason I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t make it through. Besides, it’s getting tossed out at the end of the spring anyways, I just wanted some cheap height for my container and it fit the bill perfectly!

Leave a Reply

