Update From The Jungle

Is anyone else as obscenely excited to be able to move plants outdoors like I am

Yes, I am always watching Star Wars.

The overly sunny winter allowed everything to grow an obscene amount.  I’m not sure if you can tell but the Passiflora caerulea vine went from 6′ tall to somewhere around 20′.   My Tetrastigma voinierianum vine also put out about 5′ of grow this winter, almost all of it over the last two weeks.

The Hibiscus tiliaceus ‘Tricolor’has only grown a few inches but I’m sure it would have been a foot if I would have remembered to water it more.  The damn thing wilts almost daily now because it is so rootbound but I really don’t want to put it into anything larger because I don’t really have space for a 10’ tall tree.  Part of me wants to hack it back and let it bush out but the other part of me really secretly DOES want it to be a giant tree.  Same thing goes for my beloved Ficus altissima.  I’ve become so obscenely attached to that plant that I might cry if it dies.
I’m thinking about unbraiding and cutting back my Pachira aquatica but I’m sure I won’t.  I will cut it back but I highly doubt it will ever get unbraided.
My poor Coffea arabica has suddenly decided that it hates me and went from doing really well to having all sorts of brown patchy leaves and almost no new growth.  I’m thinking I over fertilized it.  Oh well…Maybe this means I’ll have to get a new one.

The Haemanthus coccineus is going dormant for the summer.  I’m assuming it’s dormancy and not dying because the roots coming out the bottom of the pot are still healthy and firm.

Monstera ‘Cheesecake’ has finally got some new growth!  The leaf just behind the still unfurled one is also new.  I’m excited! It took it a fair amount of time to adjust to the new home, several leaves promptly turned yellow when I brought it home but everything appears to be happy now.

Sorry for the poor quality but it’s the best picture I could get.  My Codonanthe gracilis has berries?!  They’re adorable little pumpkin orange things.  There are a couple of them on the plant.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to attempt to start the seeds (because I need more than one Codonanthe?).  I imagine they’d be highly ornamental if there were more than 6 of them.

I’m probably most excited about this.  It’s my Habenaria rhodocheila coming out of winter dormancy!  My mom bought me this at the orchid show at the Chicago Botanic Garden last summer when she came to visit.  This is the first orchid I’ve ever successfully overwintered in a dormant state (not including my hardyCypripedium) which makes for a happy Tom.  I see two shoots so far!  Ahhhhh!

And last but not least, my Brassavola orchid is still blooming (barely).  The smell is still quite strong even though it only has one bloom left.  I’m really going to miss the smell when it’s gone though, it has been so nice to walk into the apartment and be greeted with something other than the smell of the wildlife (fish and guinea pig).  Oh well…

Did I ever mention that I bought a Star Fruit tree last time I went home?  I stopped into the old job and they had 1 gallon pots for soooooooo cheap (relatively speaking) so naturally one ended up going back to Chicago with me.  ::sigh:: I think I have a problem.  I think this post has an attention span problem but that’s a problem for another day.

3 thoughts on “Update From The Jungle

  1. I’ve already put the first few plants outside – they’ll just have to deal with it.
    I finally remembered to water my Tetrastigma often enough this winter, so it grew so much I had to move it off the windowsill… of course, now I won’t remember to water it, and it’ll sulk again.

  2. i am DYING laughing at your first pic of all those plants in there with the TV!!! it reminds me SO much of my dining room when I lived up north! One time one of my kids asked how we were supposed to eat in there? I was like, “we’re not….it’s my plant room!”
    hahahahaha obsessed? nah!!!!
    great post, Tom!!! so glad you can start the transition to outdoors!!!!

Leave a Reply

