Chicago Botanic Garden

I decided that since it was February, it was time to visit the Chicago Botanic Gardens again.  I knew the Strongylodon macrobotrys vine should be in bloom (since February seems to be when it does its thing) and it’s been so warm I figured the witch hazels and maybe snowdrops might be in bloom.  I was right on all three counts so it was totally worth it.  It also turned out that a ton of stuff was blooming in the conservatories so it was a great trip on all counts.  I even learned a few new plants, such as Bakeridesia integerrima, which I loved, and Eranthemum pulchellum, which I was less excited about.   I don’t really have a ton else to say about it so why don’t we just look at some pretty pictures!

.

11 thoughts on “Chicago Botanic Garden

  1. I love Strongylodon flowers – such a wonderfully weird colour!

    I haven’t been to the botanical garden in a while – I went so often in the last two years, I’m a little bored with it.

    • Yeah…I’m debating renewing my membership (but I’m sure I will…it’s $20 per car to park, but it’s only $80 to get a 1 year parking permit so I figure even if I am bored with it I can still manage 4 visits a year…). Who am I kidding, of course I’ll renew it. The flowers really are great, I absolutely love the color, they don’t even look real!

  2. I’d have to go ten times (I think) to break even – I don’t have to pay for parking, but there’s a € 2 entry fee, and a year ticket is € 20 (or used to be – I haven’t checked if they’ve raised the prices). And it’s not really big or interesting enough to go that often – not several years in a row, anyway.

    • Gotcha. The Chicago Botanic Garden is massive so I’ve never actually seen the whole thing on one visit…which makes repeat visits much more exciting. The garden is free if you ride your bike/walk in, the only fee they charge is a parking fee. It’s part of the county park system so lots of trails run to it, unfortunately it’s really hard to get to by bike from my house.

      I’m betting halfway through the summer you’ll start to miss your garden and go a few times in a row! That’s how I operate at any rate…

  3. You’ve reminded me that it’s been far too long since I visited Chicago…and have NEVER been to the Botanical Garden! Must remedy that ASAP! I’ve actually never seen a weeping Witch Hazel before…stunning!

  4. Hey Tom – it was great meeting you today at the Botanic Garden event. Now that I’ve found your blog I’ll be reading and hoping to learn how to not kill house plants.

Leave a Reply

