Hmm

The new USDA hardiness map puts me solidly in zone 6A.  I wonder how accurate this really is?  I guess I trust it more than the arbor day foundation’s map (which puts Minneapolis as zone 5 but as many people living there can attest, most plants rated zone 5 do NOT survive the winter there, while USDA still has it as zone 4b which makes sense since it gets below -15 at least two or three times a winter making it NOT zone 5 which only gets to -10).  I know there is a lot to hardiness other than minimum temp BUT minimum temp DOES still have an effect so I’m just going to continue ignoring the arbor day foundation.  I also think this means I need to experiment more with my Chicagoland garden because really what’s the point of living in this craphole if I’m not going to at least have fun with the plants?

Leave a Reply

