Oxalis versicolor Flowers

I still think the plant is rather rank and ugly but the flowers do have a certain charm to them.  If the plant grew compactly (which I’ve seen it do online…WHY WON’T MINE LOOK LIKE THE PRETTY PLANTS ON THE PACIFIC BULB SOCIETY WEBSITE?!) I feel like it would make a fun Christmas flower.  It’s small, it’s cute, the colors are all right…but no it has to look like a giant weed.  I’m probably going to let it go dormant after it flowers and try it again this summer when I can grow it outside.  Maybe it just needs really intense light to grow as a small mound?  Maybe it needs a cooler nights to prevent stretching?  Anyways I’m at least happy that it bloomed for Christmas like I was going for.

4 thoughts on “Oxalis versicolor Flowers

  1. In my experience, Oxalis always look like crap indoors. I let most of mine go dormant because it’s just not worth the bother. Only the O. spiralis subsp. vulcanicola doesn’t seem to have tubers, so I took cuttings instead. They’re in a south window, but that doesn’t stop them from getting a mile long if I don’t pinch them back all the time.
    And now I’ll go and be quietly jealous because you’ve got an Oxalis I don’t have.

    • I guess I’m just used to O. triangularis and O. whatever the common green one is. I have no problems with them whatsoever. ::sigh:: I actually had a volcanicola up until about 2 weeks ago when I got tired of it being ugly and just threw it away. Time to just be happy that I have blooms, eh?

  2. Either of you two have any thoughts on ‘lanky’ Oxalis? Mine was look pretty bad about a year ago so it was repotted and took off! It looked fantastic for a while, but the individual stems are getting very elongated. It is in a window with plenty of sunlight throughout the day. Ivynettle mentioned pinching it back? I had thought of cutting it all back, but didn’t know the best way to do this. Thanks for the help!
    Paul.

    • I really have no idea…I’m kind of having the same problem. I think I’m just going to cut it back this spring and see how it goes from there!

Leave a Reply

