My Orchid is Doing Something!

My Rhynchostylis gigantea ‘Spots’ is finally doing something!  Not something terribly exciting mind you, but it’s something!  It decided it was high time to put out a new leaf and grow some new roots.  This may sound mundane but I’ve had this thing for 2 years and it’s done NOTHING.  NOTHING AT ALL.  It doesn’t even get lighter when I forget to water it.  It just sits there in its weird military green shades doing nothing.  I’m sure it’s entirely because it finally gets to spend a summer outside in the sun and warmth and daily watering.  I’m gonna see if my boss will let me overwinter it in her greenhouse so that the growth can hopefully continue.  I don’t think it wants another long midwestern winter sitting next to a cold window.

  In other crazy plant growing news my Epiphyllum is also putting out a ton of new growth.  I’m hoping with this huge flush of new growth will come some flowers at some point in my life time but I’m not really holding out any hope for that.  Tucked in the corner of the pot you can see the previously mentioned Rhynchostylis.

 

And last but not least in the realm of things-that-are-only-exciting-to-Tom my Ficus altissima put out about a foot and a half of new growth in about two months.  The good thing?  It’s all pretty and stuff.  The bad news?  It’s all giant and stuff.  I’m sure I’ll have to cut it back but I just can’t bring myself to cut it back quite yet.  All the growth above the 4th leaf from the bottom is new from June.  I’m not sure I expected it to grow quite that fast.

Leave a Reply

