I always seem to miss GBBD…

The 15th of the month is just always too busy for me…so Garden Bloggers Bloom Day always gets thrown by the wayside.  BUT that isn’t going to stop me from posting gratuitous plant pictures.  Not everything is a bloom but most of them are and it’s my blog and I’ll post if I want to.  So there.  First up we have my Caladium ‘Leung Pa Li Chart’ which roughly translates from Thai as ‘Yellow Blossom’.  I got it from Brent and Becky’s Bulbs in April and it just now started to send up leaves.  I don’t care because it’s so pretty I can hardly stand it.  It’s yellow and pink!  And it grows in the shade!  So great!

Next up we have my variegated sport on my impatiens plant.  I think the orange looks so great with the creamy yellow and green leaves so I’m super happy that it’s doing well.  I think for now I’m going to refer to it as the creamsicle impatiens.

Continuing with the tour de plants, we have my chenile plant (Acalypha reptans).  I did have a brief period where I thought it was dead (sometimes I suck at watering…) but two weeks later and it’s back and fuller than ever!  Gotta love plants that react well to a heavy dose of fertilizer.

The southern bleeding heart (Clerodendrum thomsoniae) I got as a going away present from a co-worker in MN has been blooming non stop for almost two months now.

 

In the department of less exciting blooms my climbing onion (Bowea volubis) is also blooming.  I’m pretty sure the blooms are the least exciting part of this plant though.

 

(I’d like to interupt this post to let you all know that the cicadas in Illinois are so loud and so stupid.  If one more flies into my window I’m going to be forced to…I don’t know what I’ll do but they’re obnoxious).

I’ve got a couple plants that are not quite blooming but they’re almost there.  I give you Iochroma cyanea ‘Purple Queen’ and Gloriosa rothschildiana

 

And because we can’t forget that sometimes foliage is exciting too, I’ve got some shots of the colorful new growth on my Hibiscus tiliaceus ‘Tricolor’ (Tricolor Linden Leaf Hibiscus) and my Ficus altissima (No idea what variety though). The final picture of this post is the new growth on my saguaro cactus (Carnegiea gigantea) which has proven surprisingly easy as a houseplant.

 

One thought on “I always seem to miss GBBD…

Leave a Reply

