Passionflower!

Sorry for the lack of updates… I’ve had people in town the last 2 weekends and I’ve been working my butt off at work so I haven’t really had the motivation to do much in the way of blogging… anyways…  My passionflower (Passiflora caerulea) decided to start blooming finally!  I’m super excited.  I absolutely love passionflowers.  I’m hoping I’ll actually be able to overwinter this one…

I also got to see Batwing Passionflower (Passiflora coriacea) in person for the first time in my life.  They had it at the Lincoln Park Conservatory in a hanging basket and now I want want want want want it!

The flowers are nothing special (to the point where I forgot to take a picture) but look a that foliage!  So cool!

 

I was going to do a blooming plant update (ala Garden Bloggers Bloom Day) but it was too gross out and by the time I worked up the will to go outside it was too dark to take a decent picture.  Hopefully for the six of you who read this it was enough of a glimpse in to my oh so exciting life to satiate you for a while.

4 thoughts on “Passionflower!

    • The flowers on most plants in the genus Passiflora only last one day. If they’re closing up before the day is up they probably just hate you. They’re really cool plants, I wish I could have dozens of them but that would be absurd in an 800 square foot apartment (not that it stops me from having an 8′ tall bamboo plant in my bedroom).

Leave a Reply

