Here a Brick, There a Brick, So Many Freaking Bricks!

I’ve been working in Michael’s Mom’s yard a bit lately.  This particular patch of land has always had so much potential but it’s never been planted with anything other than some bland hostas and daylily that never grow well due to the shade from the hawthorn.  A few months ago his parents decided to do some major remodeling which meant lots of bricks at my disposal!  I decided that this garden needed a path in it to break it up and make it easier to manage.  So the picture above is the before picture…

And these are the during pictures.  I haven’t actually buried the bricks yet.  They’re just laying on top of the soil because I wanted to make sure I had enough to even MAKE a path in the first place.  I’m going to space them a little wider than I probably normally would so that I can plant clumps of scotch moss to fill in and make it look all aged and stuff.  I think it’s looking nice and breaking it up into segments really makes it look much less daunting, and we all know less daunting is good.

8 thoughts on “Here a Brick, There a Brick, So Many Freaking Bricks!

  1. Thanks! Your path looks really good too. I wonder how I missed that post of yours…I remember the one immediately before and the one right after… either way your path looks like something you’d pay a pro to do. You should definitely post some after pictures, I’d love to see how it looks now!

  2. Looks awesome! Brick paths are just so pretty, and I bet it looks even nicer with stuff growing between the bricks (funny, I knew what you meant by scotch moss even though I’d never heard the English name before… we just got some in at work.)

  3. Also, damn you, now I have another silly song stuck in my head! I’ve already got about three constantly as constant background music in my mind. Please excuse me while I go beat my head against the wall.

    • We are the lovely zone known as 5. Almost tundra like but not quite. I have no real planting list. So far I’ve put in 3 Pieris japonica ‘flaming silver’, 3 Rhododendron ‘Vulcan’, a bunch of purple and white columbine, Senicio obovatus, Galium odoratum, Uvularia grandiflora and Lilum hansonii, Helleborus ‘Berry Swirl and some other stuff I’m sure I’m forgetting. I’m holding off for a bit now to see what other plants pop up for sale before I overload on all spring blooming stuff.

Leave a Reply

