The Grove

The other day Michael and I took a walk in The Grove so I could get my fill of spring Ephemerals.  The Grove is a National Historic Site nearby with a fantastic woodland full of wildflowers and some pretty amazing trees.  The shagbark hickory (Carya ovata) leave me drooling every time I see them.  I absolutely love ephemeral plants so late april/early May is botanical heaven for me. I just can’t get enough of these!  There isn’t a whole ton else to say about them so I’ll just leave you with some pretty pictures of some (mostly) native wildflowers.

Dentaria laciniata (Cardamine concatenata) - Cut leaved Toothwart

Trillium lutea - Yellow Trillium

Mertensia virginica - Virginia Bluebells

Erythronium albidum (White Troutlily)

Shagbark Hickory - Carya ovata (Pretend like it's rightside up!)

Podophyllum peltatum - Mayapple

Common Snapping Turtle (About 3 or 4 feet long)

Kennicott House

Lesser Celandine (Ranunculus ficara) - Not Native

2 thoughts on “The Grove

Leave a Reply

