Garden Plans

I’m planning a garden that changes colors over the season…I’ve already got it planted to be horticulture-black (so really dark purple) and yellow for the spring, and I’ve already got a dark pink/redish with white edges rose of sharon so I’m thinking the fall colors will be pinks, red and white.  Does anyone have any suggestions for fun red, orange and yellow flowers for the summer.  I’m in zone 5.   If I can I want it to have kind of a tropical look and use as many perennial plants as possible (though I do love annuals and summer bulbs so I will be working some of those in as well).  Anyone got any ideas?  I’d also welcome ideas for some pink/red/white fall bloomers (that aren’t mums).  I don’t have anything against mums I just want to go for something different if I can.

4 thoughts on “Garden Plans

  1. Hahahaha I actually went to the U of M, the head of the mum program as my advisor so I spent quite a bit of time with them. I really like mums a lot and have nothing against them what so ever, I was just hoping to find something other than mums.

    I do love Kniphofia, I don’t know why I didn’t think of that. I’ll have to see what I can find this spring… I think some Dahlias might be finding their way into the garden as well. There are some ridiculous sunset colored ones that I’m not sure I can live without.

  2. For fall, Asters (or… how are they calling them now? Symphotrichum) comes to mind – there are pink and white ones, but I don’t know their hardiness zone.
    I’d poke through my books a bit but they’re all still in boxes in the cellar. ‘course, I could look online, but that’s not nearly as much fun as books.

  3. I have no plant knowledge that you did not impart upon me, I just want you to know that I will be demanding photos every 2-3 weeks all summer of said garden :)

Leave a Reply

