Pregnancy

My little Amaryllis (Hippeastrum) is all grown up!  Well she’s swelling up and looks preggers at any rate.  My pollination attempt is going well so far!  The ovary on the flower I pollinated is at least twice as big as the three that were unpollinated.  I suppose I should start researching how to grow these things from seed!  Anyone know if it needs to be fresh or dried?  Could this post be any more rambling?  Yes it can!  I think I found out who daddy (the double pink one from two entries ago) is!  It seems to be a good match with “Lady Jane” which is not exactly the most masculine name for my male parent but it’s 2010 so I think we can all be OK with that and let them continue their non-traditional romance.

Fat and Sassy!

3 thoughts on “Pregnancy

  1. Like I said in my last comment, I tried it as a kid, but never managed to get them to germinate. Then again, I was about seven, so it might just be I wasn’t too careful about watering… no idea how hard it really is!

Leave a Reply

