Time for a long overdue post!

This is gonna be another cactus post so if for some ungodly reason you don’t care about my cacti (and if that is the case leave now and never come back because they are my pride and joy and I don’t want to be your friend if that is the case!… ok not really but if you don’t care don’t bother reading this because it’s all about the joys of hardy cacti and succulents).

Now that I’ve got that off my chest…

This spring has been an amazing one for my cacti and succulent patch.  Those of you who know me personally know I’m a bit obsessed with it.  After a very kind spring (ok the two weeks of cold rain weren’t so great) I’m seeing some amazing growth and now you will be too!

Opuntia 'Smithwick' in bud for the first time!

Opuntia fragilis 'Little Greybeard'

Geum triflorum

Crested Sedum reflexum

Unknown Opuntia flowering for the first time ever

Opuntia fragilis pad which broke off last fall and decided to root and grow

Escobaria vivipara blooming for the first time

O. fragilis 'Dunn County WI strain' 29 new pads this year!

I'm hoping the pink dots are flower buds but I'm not holding my breath

This monster has quite a few buds and tons of new pads...I've actually had to cut it back already this year once before it even started growing

I planted some species tulips for spring color and really like the way the seed heads look. It's almost otherworldly

Echinocereus triglochidiatus growing merrily

There are a fair number of other cacti in my garden (well…5 or 6 and they’re all opuntia) but they don’t have much to talk about going on with them (more pads….always with the new pads!  They’re taking over!) so I’m not going to post pictures of them.  I’m so excited about this spring, I’ve only ever had one of my hardy cacti bloom before so hopefully this will help with IDing some of them.  I love having such an assortment of cacti and succulents in my yard.  I love how my neighbors will frequently stop by to ask me about them.  They have a hard time believing the plants stay out all winter (even though they’ve been outside for 5ish years and they’ve had plenty of time to get used to seeing it).  It’s always fun answering their questions.  I guess even people here have a hard time believing anything will survive -20º temperatures for days on end let alone something we’re used to thinking of as a southern plant.  Anyways enough ranting for now.  Hopefully I’ll have some flower pictures to post really soon!

2 thoughts on “Time for a long overdue post!

  1. These are really cool! I only have 2 cacti, but now I’m inspired to find a spot outdoors to plant them. :)

Leave a Reply

